Pressing Letters

Saturday April 12, 2014

A master of a 550-year-old craft, Wayne Davis explains why sometimes the old way is the only way.

Cooking with Fire

Saturday April 05, 2014

One of the things we learnt in the latest mag is that you can barbeque using an old mattress base, or a shovel. The man who taught us? Adan Abrahanowicz.

Wood Water Jug

Monday March 31, 2014

Hand-carving wood is a lot easier when you let hot coal do the work for you. Just add fire.

Malfroy's Gold

Tuesday March 18, 2014

Tim Malfroy of Malfroy's Gold honey is changing the way bees are kept, one design tweak at a time. 

Dueling Banjos

Saturday March 15, 2014

A quick raid of the pantry (and a minute in the shed) are all that’s needed to fashion together the ol’ Appalachian five string.

Make a Knife

Saturday February 22, 2014

Being handy with a knife will get you far in this world. Making your own will get you further.

Strung Up

Saturday February 15, 2014

You don’t need a backyard to have a garden. Just a few plants and some string.

Paper Houses

Wednesday February 12, 2014

You've heard of open source software, but what about open source architecture? Architect Joana Pacheco is making residential blueprints available to all, for free.

Build a Tool Box

Thursday January 30, 2014

The great thing about tools is that if you don’t have a box to put them in, they can build one for you themselves.

The Tiny Project

Monday January 13, 2014

Its motto "less home, more life" sounds idealistic, but The Tiny Project is a calculated experiment in living simply.

Page 1 of 14