The Lost Art of Soba Delivery

Tuesday May 12, 2015

Forget Menulog: fast food delivery peaked with the soba noodle cyclists of early 20th century Japan.

The Ottoman Atlantis

Thursday May 07, 2015

Beneath the surface of the Danube river lies Ada Kaleh: a small but once-important island that became known as the Ottoman Atlantis.

Stalin’s Picture Books

Tuesday May 05, 2015

When artists began being censored in the USSR, many took up new careers as children's book illustrators. The result was a period of amazing colour and imagination – though not always best suited for children.

Toyshop Tomb

Sunday May 03, 2015

Did your inner child feel a tremor in the Force recently? It was probably due the discovery of this trove of vintage figurines in a boarded-up toy store in Wales.

Ye Olde Tricks for Living

Monday April 27, 2015

Before Google, you pretty much had to take up smoking to find the answer to the daily conundrums of life, as this collection of old cigarette cards shows.

Australia's Space Station

Saturday April 25, 2015

High technology met the outback ute when NASA's Skylab space station crashed down on Australia in 1979.

Nazi Holiday Maps

Wednesday April 22, 2015

As recruitment slogans go, 'Join the army; see the world’ always sounded a little perverse. But as this Nazi tourist map of occupied Paris shows, there’s always been a sightseeing element to combat.

Pigeon Paparazzi

Saturday March 21, 2015

Back in 1909, many years before the invention of the Go-Pro and the drone, if you wanted aerial photography you had to get your hands on one of Dr Julius Neubronner’s pigeons.

Ads in the USSR

Monday March 16, 2015

Think today’s TV commercials are a bit much? These ads from the Soviet Union took things to surreal heights.

Etsy for Aliens

Thursday March 12, 2015

We’re still searching the skies for alien life, but back in the ‘50s these students had already begun designing products to sell to them.

Page 1 of 15